After two years of delay due to the COVID19 crisis, the 20th International Symposium on Iron Nutrition and Interactions in Plants (ISINIP) is re-scheduled on July 4-8, 2022. The organizing committee is confident that, thanks to vaccination, the Plant Iron Community will be able to gather in-person at the Reims Convention Center (Reims, France) as initially planned in 2020.

Since the first symposium held in 1981 in Provo, Utah, USA, ISINIP has become a premier international convention for a wide range of researchers interested in iron nutrition in plants. Over the past 19 meetings, ISINIP has always been committed to be an excellent forum for scientific discussions and the exchange of ideas among researchers, from leading scientists in the field to young postgraduate students. After the very successful meeting organized in Montpellier by Jean-François Briat in Montpellier in 2006, it is a great honor to host ISINIP in France again.

The 20th ISINIP will cover many topics from iron availability in soils, iron acquisition by plants to the molecular regulation of iron homeostasis but also the interactions of iron with other elements or with microorganisms. Exceptionally, we have scheduled a session on iron in microalgae, reflecting the growing interest for this topic, which is crucial for biomass production and carbon fixation at the global scale. Finally, we introduce flash talk sessions which will allow additional participants to present and will make the poster sessions even more lively. Many excellent scientists have already accepted to present their work at ISINIP2022 (see Scientific Program). Four years after our last meeting in Taipei, our community craves for this great opportunity for promoting new ideas and become an important starting point for new research collaborations in the future.

The members of the local organizing committee wish this to be a valuable meeting and hope you will enjoy the scientific program as well as the social events. In this regard, I express my sincere gratitude to all members of the local organizing committee for their enthusiastic effort and the sponsors for their invaluable support.

Sébastien Thomine, chair

Local Organizing Committee

Marie Barberon (University of Genève, Switzerland)

Teresa Cieschi (I2BC, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)

Cathy Curie (BPMP, Montpellier, France)

Christian Dubos (BPMP, Montpellier, France)

Stéphane Mari (BPMP, Montpellier, France)

Sylvain Merlot (I2BC, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)

Nicolas Rouhier (University of Lorraine, Nancy, France)

Sébastien Thomine (I2BC, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)

Grégory Vert (LRSV, Toulouse, France)

International Steering Committee

Janneke Balk (UK)

Erin Connolly (USA)

Ferenc Fodor (Hungary)

Mary Lou Guerinot (USA)

Michael Grusak (USA)

Hong Qing Ling (China)

Juan Jose Lucena (Spain)

Naoko Nishizawa (Japan)

Roberto Pinton (Italy)

Wolfgang Schmidt (Taiwan)

Sébastien Thomine (France)

Nicolaus von Wiren (Germany)

Elsbeth Walker (USA)